Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
Affichage d’emplois
Non classifié(e)
Séances de consultation juridique
Youth Justice Camp

Division de la location à usage d’habitation (Residential Tenancies Board)

Pouvoirs du directeur

Le directeur de la division de la location à usage d’habitation est chargé de l’administration générale de la RTA; il exerce les attributions que lui confère la Loi et informe les locataires et les locateurs.

Le directeur peut aussi trancher les différends découlant d’un contrat de location ou de l’application de la loi intitulée Residential Tenancies Act, 2018 (loi sur la location à usage d’habitation). Enfin, il peut assigner des tâches, notamment la médiation et l’arbitrage dans le cadre de différends, au personnel qu’il juge indiqué.

Enquêtes

Le directeur et le personnel autorisé par le ministre peuvent, à tout moment convenable, pénétrer dans une résidence pour effectuer une enquête ou une visite sous le régime de la loi sur la division de la location à usage d’habitation.

Présentation d’une demande au directeur

Le locataire et le locateur peuvent, au plus tard deux (2) ans après la fin d’un bail, demander au directeur d’établir s’il y a eu contravention à une disposition d’un contrat de location ou de la RTA.

La demande est présentée au directeur au moyen du formulaire prévu par le ministre et est accompagnée des frais que ce dernier a fixés. L’auteur de la demande envoie ensuite aux autres parties au litige une copie de la demande par signification à personne, par courrier recommandé, par messagerie ou courrier prioritaire.

Toutefois, le directeur peut refuser ou rejeter une demande dès qu’il estime qu’une question est sans fondement ou vexatoire, ou qu’elle n’est pas présentée de bonne foi, et peut prendre un ordre en ce sens.

L’auteur d’une demande peut également retirer cette dernière avant qu’un ordre soit pris.

Après que le directeur de la division de la location à usage d’habitation a accepté une demande, il y a deux suites possibles :

  1. Les parties seront invitées à participer à une séance de médiation où elles tenteront de régler leur différend. Si elles réussissent, elles devront signer un document qui atteste de leur entente et qu’elles seront tenues de respecter. Aucun appel n’est alors possible.
  2. En revanche, si elles n’en viennent pas à une entente, les parties peuvent présenter des éléments de preuve dans le cadre d’une audience devant un arbitre. Le locateur et le locataire ont tous deux le droit d’être représentés par un avocat à tout moment au cours de l’instance; ils peuvent également choisir de se représenter eux-mêmes.

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
Career Opportunities
Job Postings
Legal Clinics
Media Release
NL Sexual Assault Crisis and Prevention Centre
The Gathering Place
The St. John's Native Friendship Centre
Uncategorised
Youth Justice Camp

The Residential Tenancies Board

RESIDENTIAL TENANCIES BOARD

The Residential Tenancies Board is an administrative board that handles complaints, disputes, and hearings between landlord and tenants. The Board and can be contacted at 1-877-829-2608. The Board receives over 30,000 inquiries a year. As such, there may be wait times before your matter is addressed.

powers of the director

The Residential Tenancies Director is responsible for administering the powers and duties under the Residential Tenancies Act, and providing information to landlords and tenants.

The Director can also determine a matter arising under a rental agreement or the Residential Tenancies Act, 2018. The Director may also assign duties, including mediation and adjudication of disputes, to others considered to be appropriate.

investigations

The Director and Board can, at a reasonable time, enter a residential premises to carry out investigations or inspections under the Residential Tenancies Act, 2018.

Application to Director

Within two years of the end of a rental agreement, a landlord or tenant can apply to the Director to determine if the rental agreement or Residential Tenancies Act breached.

A form and fee prescribed by the Minister must be submitted to the Director with applications. When an application is made, it must be served on the other parties with a copy of the application either personally, by registered mail, or by courier service or express post.

However, the Director can refuse or dismiss an application at any time if the matter is found to be trivial, frivolous, vexatious, or not made in good faith. An order stating this refusal or dismissal may then be issued.

Applicants may withdraw an application before an order is issued.

If an application is not dismissed, there are two possible outcomes:

  1. The parties are scheduled to attend mediation to attempt to settle the matter. If the matter is settled, the parties must sign a binding agreement which must be followed. This cannot be appealed.
  2. If no agreement is made, the parties may give evidence at a hearing before the adjudicator. Both a landlord and tenant have the right to represent themselves or be represented by a lawyer at any stage of the proceedings.

Frequently Asked Questions