Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
Affichage d’emplois
Non classifié(e)
Séances de consultation juridique
Youth Justice Camp

Comment vous protéger des répercussions d’une séparation ou d’un divorce

Séparation et divorce

La séparation et le divorce sont des épreuves difficiles pour n’importe qui. Il est prioritaire que vous preniez soin de vous durant cette épreuve. Si vous avez des enfants, ils auront besoin de vous plus que jamais puisque cette situation est difficile pour eux aussi. Vous ne pouvez pas vous occuper de vos enfants si vous avez vous-mêmes des problèmes non résolus.

Nous vous suggérons fortement d’obtenir les conseils d’un avocat pour vous aider à comprendre la procédure juridique en matière de séparation et de divorce.

Émotions

Il est encore plus difficile de traverser cette épreuve si vous ne faites pas face à vos émotions. Chacun vivra le divorce de façon différente puisque chaque personne et chaque situation est unique. Chacun peut être touché différemment par le divorce : certains seront stressés, fâchés, contrariés, inquiets, confus ou retirés, d’autres vivront un deuil. Il est courant de vivre l’ensemble de ces émotions au cours des diverses étapes d’un divorce.

Parlez-en

Le divorce est une épreuve très personnelle pour beaucoup de gens. La plupart des gens ne veulent pas discuter des problèmes et des raisons qui les ont menés à prendre une telle décision. Néanmoins, même si vous n’avez peut-être pas envie d’en parler, garder ces problèmes pour vous ne les fera pas disparaître; vous confier à quelqu’un pourrait aider la situation.

Vous pourriez notamment vous ouvrir aux personnes suivantes :

Famille et amis

Votre famille et vos amis tiennent beaucoup à vous et veulent vous aider à traverser ce moment difficile. S’ils n’ont pas abordé le sujet avec vous, c’est peut-être dans l’intention de vous laisser un peu d’espace. Ils n’attendent peut-être qu’un signe de votre part.

Conseiller

Si vous ne vous sentez pas à l’aise de parler à quelqu’un que vous connaissez, vous pourriez vous adresser à un conseiller. Les conseillers sont des professionnels impartiaux qui peuvent aider les gens alors qu’ils font face à toutes sortes de problèmes. Un conseiller vous offrira confidentialité et expertise.

Prêtre, ministre, rabbin, etc.

Vous pourriez aussi vous confier à un leader religieux ou spirituel. Cette option vous permet de bénéficier de la confidentialité et de l’expertise d’une personne qui vous connaît et qui connaît votre ancien partenaire.

Groupe de soutien

Participer à un groupe de soutien est une excellente façon de discuter avec d’autres personnes qui se trouvent dans une situation semblable à la vôtre.

Normalement, les autres participants ont vécu ou sont en train de vivre plus ou moins les mêmes choses que vous. Ce genre de groupe peut vous redonner courage.

Plan de parentage

Si vous avez des enfants, il est très important qu’ils voient le divorce comme étant le changement plutôt que la fin d’une relation. Que vous et votre partenaire soyez encore en couple ou non, vous devrez toujours œuvrer de concert et faire front commun pour vos enfants. Le divorce des parents cause déjà suffisamment de difficulté aux enfants; en formant équipe, vous leur montrez qu’ils n’ont pas à choisir entre vous deux et que si vous n’êtes plus partenaires de vie, vous demeurez des partenaires en tant que parents. 

Vous pourriez réduire la tension entre vous et votre partenaire et vous faciliter la tâche en créant conjointement un plan de parentage. Un tel plan pourrait alléger le stress que vous vivez tous les deux et vous permettre d’atteindre la meilleure solution pour toute la famille lorsque des enfants sont concernés. Tenir des discussions ouvertes et franches sur la façon dont vous continuerez à être parents est une excellente idée pour éviter toute confusion à l’avenir.

Voici quelques idées :

Établir des règles

Les enfants ont tous besoin de règles et les parents ont la responsabilité d’établir des limites. Si les parents établissent ces règles à deux et qu’ils y adhèrent, les enfants en retirent un sentiment de stabilité malgré les changements que la famille traverse.

Demeurer en contact

Les enfants savent souvent opposer les deux parents pour obtenir ce qu’ils veulent. Ce jeu est d’autant plus facile lorsque les parents n’habitent plus ensemble. On les entend souvent dire « mais papa a dit oui ». En insistant pour demeurer en contact et parler de vos enfants, vous présenterez un front uni pour leur bien.

À ne pas oublier

Si vous vous sentez seul ou dépassé, vous pourriez vous adresser à un professionnel qui vous aidera à traverser cette épreuve. En fait, vous pourriez même consulter un conseiller avec votre ancien partenaire ou avec toute la famille pour vous aider à trouver des façons de vivre avec cette nouvelle réalité. Le counseling pourrait vous être utile. Si vous avez besoin d’aide immédiate, vous pouvez joindre une ligne d’écoute spécialisée en santé mentale à toute heure du jour et de la nuit en composant sans frais le 1-888-737-4668.

L’organisme Family Justice Services (FJS) a des bureaux aux quatre coins de la province et offre des cours pour les parents qui doivent composer avec une séparation ou un divorce. Composez le 1-709-729-1183 pour savoir où se situe le bureau le plus près. Il est toujours fortement recommandé que les gens qui vivent une séparation ou un divorce obtiennent des conseils juridiques. Si vous traversez une période émotive, il est déconseillé de prendre des décisions sans d’abord consulter un avocat qui veillera à protéger vos intérêts. Vous pouvez joindre un avocat de plusieurs façons :

Service d’aiguillage aux avocats

Téléphonez à l’organisme Public Legal Information Association of NL au 1-888-660-7788 pour obtenir le nom d’un avocat en vue d’une consultation (jusqu’à 30 minutes) à un prix raisonnable.

Legal Aid Commission of NL (service d’aide juridique)

Téléphonez à votre bureau local pour vous informer du processus de demande et savoir si vous pourriez être admissible.

Pages jaunes

Consultez les pages jaunes sous la rubrique « Avocats » (lawyers) pour trouver une liste d’avocats.

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
Career Opportunities
Job Postings
Legal Clinics
Media Release
NL Sexual Assault Crisis and Prevention Centre
The Gathering Place
The St. John's Native Friendship Centre
Youth Justice Camp
Quick Exit

How to protect yourself from the fallout of separation and divorce

Separation & Divorce

Separation and divorce are tough processes to go through for anyone. Taking care of yourself throughout this process must be a priority. If you have children, they will need you more than ever, because this situation is difficult for them as well. You cannot be there for your children if you have unresolved issues yourself.

We strongly suggest you seek legal advice as you try to navigate the legal processes involved in separation and divorce.

Emotions

It makes the entire process more difficult to deal with if you are not addressing your emotions. Every person will deal with divorce in different ways because every person and situation is different. The effects of a divorce on a person vary; it may make a person stressed, upset, angry, worried, confused or withdrawn. Many others experience grief. These are common emotions people feel as they go through the stages of divorce.

Talk about it

Divorce is a very personal thing for many people. The issues and reasons why you have chosen to take this step are not something most people want to share with others. While talking about divorce may not be something you want to do, internalizing your problems aren’t going to make them go away. Discussing it with someone may help the situation.

Here are some people who you might want to approach:

Family and friends

Your family and friends care about you very much and they want to help you through this. They may not have approached you because they want to give you space, but you approaching them may be what they are waiting for.

Counsellor

If you are not comfortable with speaking to someone you know, you might consider speaking with a counsellor. Counsellors are impartial professionals who can help people with all types of problems. With a counsellor, you would have confidentiality and expertise.

Priest, Minister, Rabbi, etc.

Another option would be to speak with your religious or spiritual leader. Sometimes this is a good choice because you get the expertise and confidentiality of a counsellor, but the person usually knows you and your ex-partner.

Support Group

Support groups are a great way to share with others who are in a situation similar to yours.

Normally the people in the group are going through or have gone through some of the same things as you. With a group like this, it may give a sense of encouragement.

Parenting plan

If you have children, it is very important for them to see a divorce as a “change” of partnership rather than an “end” of partnership. Whether you and your partner are together as a couple or not you will still need to work together to provide a united front for your children. It is difficult enough on your children to deal with divorce; providing a united front lets them know that they do not have to choose between parents, and that while you’re not “life” partners you are “parenting” partners.

A great way to ease the tension and make the process smoother for you and your partner is to come up with a parenting plan together. This may alleviate stress on both sides and provide the best solution for your whole family when children are involved. In order to avoid confusion in the future, open and frank discussions between the parents about how they will continue to parent together, while living apart, may be a very good idea.

Here are some ideas:

Rules

All kids need rules, and setting boundaries and limitations is a parent’s job. If parents set these rules together and stick to them, it gives the children a sense of stability even while their family is changing.

Contact

It is common for children to play one parent against the other to get what they want. It is even easier for children to do that if the parents aren’t living together. How often as parents do you hear, “But Dad said I could.” If you make a point to stay in contact and talk about your children it will keep a united front for their sake.

Keep in Mind

If you are feeling alone or overwhelmed, you may want to consider talking with a professional to help you deal with the situation. If fact, you might also want to consider seeing a counsellor with your ex, and/or the entire family, to help find ways to cope with the realities of your new family life. Counselling may be beneficial. If you need immediate help, there is a toll-free mental health crisis line which can be accessed 24 hours a day. The number is 1-888-737-4668.

Family Justice Services (FJS) has offices located across the province and offers a parenting course for parents who are trying to deal with separation and divorce. Contact 1-709-729-1183 to ask for the FJS office nearest to you. Legal advice is always strongly recommended for people going through separation and divorce. It is not a good idea to make decisions in emotional times without first consulting with a lawyer to make sure your interests are protected. There are various ways to contact a lawyer:

Lawyer Referral Service

Call Public Legal Information Association of NL at 1-888-660-7788 to be provided with the name of a lawyer who will provide consultation (up to thirty minutes) for a nominal fee.

Legal Aid Commission of NL

Call your local office to inquire about the application process and whether you might qualify.

Yellow Pages

Look under “Lawyer” for listings of lawyers.