Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
Affichage d’emplois
Non classifié(e)
Séances de consultation juridique
Youth Justice Camp

À notre sujet

AU SUJET DE LA PLIAN

La Public Legal Information Association of Newfoundland & Labrador (PLIAN) est un organisme sans but lucratif et un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui a pour but d’augmenter et d’améliorer l’accès à la justice. Nous sommes le fournisseur d’éducation et d’information juridiques publiques désigné pour Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, et un membre de l’Association canadienne d’éducation et d’information juridiques (ACEIJ). La PLIAN reçoit du soutien du gouvernement du Canada, de la Law Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador et de la Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador par l’entremise de fonds en nature et de fonds de projet fournis par le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et de plusieurs autres sources.

LIGNE D’INFORMATION JURIDIQUE ET SERVICE D’AIGUILLAGE À DES AVOCATS

La PLIAN exploite une ligne d’information juridique et un service d’aiguillage à des avocats de 8 h 30 à 13 h 30 (du lundi au vendredi) et de 18 h à 21 h (les mercredis seulement). Par l’entremise de la ligne d’information juridique, les clientes et clients peuvent obtenir des renseignements juridiques généraux et de l’aide à naviguer le système juridique. Dans le cadre de la ligne d’information juridique, le service d’aiguillage à des avocats dirige les clients aux avocats participants. Les avocates et avocats qui s’inscrivent auprès de ce service acceptent de fournir une consultation de 30 minutes pour 40 $ (taxes comprises).

Pour contacter la ligne d’information juridique et le service d’aiguillage à des avocats, communiquez avec la PLIAN par téléphone au 1-888-660-7788/709-722-2643 ou par courriel à info@publiclegalinfo.com.

SÉANCES D’INFORMATION COMMUNAUTAIRE ET VISITES D’ÉCOLES

Par l’entremise de ces séances, la PLIAN est en mesure de fournir de l’information au public sur des questions juridiques particulières. Les sujets d’intérêt comprennent le droit de la famille, les enjeux du système de la justice pour les jeunes, les testaments et les successions, et d’autres notions juridiques. La PLIAN a également pour but d’éduquer les jeunes de la province au moyen de diverses méthodes. Les visites d’écoles lui permettent de présenter des questions juridiques pertinentes aux jeunes pour encourager les élèves à connaître le droit et pour sensibiliser ces derniers aux possibilités de carrière en droit. Veuillez nous contacter si vous voulez que nous fassions une présentation dans votre école.

PUBLICATIONS

La PLIAN produit régulièrement des publications sur de nombreux domaines du droit. Elle distribue des copies de ses publications à l’échelle de la province, quand il y en a en nombre suffisant. Nous avons également fait traduire nos publications en français, en innu-aimun et inuktitut pour que nous puissions joindre le plus grand nombre de Terre-Neuviens et Labradoriens.

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
Career Opportunities
Job Postings
Legal Clinics
Media Release
NL Sexual Assault Crisis and Prevention Centre
The Gathering Place
The St. John's Native Friendship Centre
Youth Justice Camp
Quick Exit

About Us

About PLIAN

The Public Legal Information Association of Newfoundland & Labrador (PLIAN) is an independent non-profit organization and registered charity dedicated to educating Newfoundlanders and Labradorians about the law, with the intent of increasing and improving access to justice. We are the designated public legal education and information provider for Newfoundland and Labrador and are also a member of the Public Legal Education Association of Canada (PLEAC). PLIAN is funded by the Government of Canada, the Law Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador, and the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador, with in-kind and project funding provided by the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador and a number of other sources.

Legal information line/Lawyer Referral Service

PLIAN operates a Legal Information Line and Lawyer Referral Service from 8:30 AM – 1:30 PM (Monday to Friday) and from 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM (Wednesdays only). Through the Legal Information Line, clients can receive general legal information and assistance with navigation of the legal system. As part of the Legal Information Line, PLIAN’s Lawyer Referral Service offers clients referrals to participating lawyers. Lawyers who register with this service agree to provide an initial 30-minute consultation at a cost of $40 (taxes included).

To contact the Legal Information Line and Lawyer Referral Service, contact PLIAN at 1-888-660-7788/709-722-2643 or email info@publiclegalinfo.com.

Community information sessions and school visits

Through these sessions, PLIAN is able to provide the public with information on particular legal issues. Topics of interest include family law, youth justice issues, will and estates, and other legal topics. PLIAN also aims to educate youth in the province through a variety of methods. Visits to schools enables PLIAN to present about legal issues relevant to youth, to encourage students to learn about the law, and increase awareness of careers in the law. Please contact us to inquire about a visit to your school.

Publications

PLIAN regularly produces publications on many areas of the law. PLIAN distributes copies of its publications throughout the province, where supplies allow. We have also translated a number of our publications into French, Innu-aimun and Inuktitut in an effort to make them more accessible to Newfoundlanders and Labradorians.