Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
Affichage d’emplois
Non classifié(e)
Séances de consultation juridique
Youth Justice Camp

Testaments et Successions

Le testament est un document juridique qui permet à son auteur de décider de ce qu’il adviendra de ses biens (sa succession) après son décès. Il permet également de désigner la personne qui réglera vos affaires après votre décès.

Pour qu’un testament soit valide d’un point de vue juridique, il doit répondre aux exigences prévues par la loi intitulée Wills Act(loi sur les testaments) de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ainsi qu’à d’autres exigences découlant de décisions que les tribunaux ont rendues sur la question. Tout d’abord, l’auteur du testament, également nommé testateur, doit être âgé d’au moins dix sept 17 ans et posséder la capacité juridique requise.

La capacité est un terme juridique signifiant que la personne a les aptitudes cognitives nécessaires, au moment où le testament est rédigé, pour comprendre les conséquences des décisions qu’elle y consigne et la portée juridique du document. Les tribunaux ont établi que le testateur est capable dès qu’il comprend la nature et le montant des avoirs qu’il inscrit dans son testament et qu’il comprend que ce document avantage certaines personnes et en privent d’autres de ses avoirs.

Deuxièmement, le testament doit se faire par écrit.

La personne qui décède sans testament laisse une succession appelée ab intestat. Celle-ci sera alors réglée conformément à la loi intitulée de l’Intestate Succession Act (loi sur les successions ab intestat) de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, ce qui pourrait ne pas correspondre aux souhaits que la personne aurait exprimés si elle avait rédigé son propre testament.

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
Career Oppertunities
Media Release
NL Sexual Assault Crisis and Prevention Centre
The Gathering Place
The St. John's Native Friendship Centre
Youth Justice Camp
Quick Exit

Wills & Estates

A will is a legal document that gives a person control over what will happen to the things they own (known as the estate) after death. A will also allows you to name who will be assigned to settle your affairs after your death.

The Newfoundland and Labrador Wills Act sets out requirements for creating a legally valid will, and other requirements have been developed through cases involving wills decided through the court system. The person making a will, also known as the testator, must be at least 17 years of age and have legal capacity.

Capacity is a legal term meaning that a person has the mental ability at the time the will is made to understand the consequences of what they are doing in the will and the fact that they are making a legal document. Capacity has been interpreted by the courts to mean that the person making the will understands the type and amount of assets he or she is including in the will, and the fact that the will benefits some people and excludes other people from receiving assets.

Secondly, a will must be written.

If a person dies without a will, they are considered to have died intestate. In that case, their estate will be distributed according to the Newfoundland and Labrador Intestate Succession Act, which might be different from what they wanted had they made their own will.